I have two boys. Two small boys. These creatures are messy. And neither of them were in childcare yet so 90% of their mess was made at home. I somehow got it into my head that if I owned a cordless stick vacuum my life would be somewhat easier, and had been mumbling this to myself every time I vacuumed for months. I thought to myself that I could just whip it out, and like a magic wand it would pick up all that kiddie related mess in a second…with the added bonus that my youngest wouldn’t be pulling out the power cord mid vacuum every few minutes sending me into a ‘my child is going to die’ panic.

Hubby heard my case, our child’s safety and my sanity were at stake, and we set a budget…$100. We had just moved countries and money was tight. When we got to the store we quickly realised $100 would get one that struggled to suck up a feather so I pulled the usual mom-move, said I didn’t need it anyway, and I settled for a normal vacuum that was on sale. That vacuum was useless.

So, a year later, we decided to pop into Masters about 10 minutes before a ‘I need a nap’ melt down was about to ensue. Great choices I know. The store was going out of business, there was sale-chaos. Hubby was wondering around the cordless drill section while I chased baby who happened to wander into the stick vacuum section. The $500 solution to my mess problem was marked down to $210 and there was one left, on the top top shelf. While I stood waiting for a sales person to get it down, trying to hold onto baby who had now morphed into an angry octopus, another woman walked up. I phoned hubby and said ‘please come to the vacuums NOW’. Baby escaped and crawled under some shelving. I shook a granola bar at him trying to coax him out like a feral animal while my stick vac walked away with its new owner.

In the car on the way home I felt defeated. The constant mess, food on the floor and dirt really gets to me. $210 was a push, there was no way I was ever going to get a full priced one. Hubby was mumbling about needing a cordless drill. He started teasing me about being upset about a vacuum, that I had chosen my baby over a vacuum and that I had made the right call, and I told him to stop it. “I’m going to cry.”
And then I did.

I think he was in shock. Later he told me he had never seen me cry over a material object, but it wasn’t that. It was this ridiculous idea that my life might be just a little bit easier, just a little bit cleaner and less stressful, if I just had that magic cordless vacuum.

Once we were home he was furiously typing away and scrolling on his phone. A few minutes later he told me “get the kids, we are going to get you your vacuum”. I was sure he thought I was being stupid and we couldn’t afford it but it seems he took my perceived need that seriously. I told him ‘no’ but he had decided…”if there’s one thing I’m doing today it’s getting you that vacuum.”

It was more expensive than the one I had missed, but a better model and on sale. And on the way home I cried again. So often as a mom I put what I want last on the list, everyone else’s needs always seem more important than mine. I find it easy to let things go if the people I love are happier for it. But that day I cried over a Dyson, because in this crazy unexpected way my new vacuum cleaner was the most romantic, grandest gesture of love that I could think of.

